CHAPTER II.—CONSTITUTION AND GOVERNMENT*

CONSPECTUS

	PAGE	1	
Part I.—Constitution of Canada	66	Section 3. Crown Corporations	140
Part II.—Machinery of Government	71	Section 4. Acts Administered by Federal Departments	14
SECTION 1. THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT	71		
Subsection 2. The Legislature	71 78	Part IV.—Federal and Provincial Govern- ment Employment	154
Subsection 3. The Judiciary Section 2. Provincial and Territorial	94	Part V.—Canada's External Relations	164
GOVERNMENTS	96 97	Section 1. Canada's International Status.	164
Subsection 2. Prince Edward Island	98	SECTION 2. DIPLOMATIC REPRESENTATION	
Subsection 3. Nova Scotia	100	as at June 30, 1967	166
Subsection 4. New Brunswick	101	Section 3. International Activities.	
Subsection 5. Quebec	102	1966-67	172
Subsection 6. Ontario	104	Subsection 1. Canada and Commonwealth	
Subsection 7. Manitoba	105 106	Relations	172
Subsection 9. Alberta	105	Subsection 2. Francophonie	173
Subsection 10. British Columbia	108	Subsection 3. Canada and the United Nations	174
Subsection 11. Yukon Territory and Northwest Territories	110	Subsection 4. Canada and the North Atlantic Treaty Organization	179
SECTION 3. LOCAL GOVERNMENT	116	Subsection 5. Canada and the United	
SECTION 4. FEDERAL AND PROVINCIAL		States	181
ROYAL COMMISSIONS	121	Subsection 6. Canada and Latin America	181
Part III.—Administrative Functions of the Federal Government	123	Subsection 7. Canada and Europe, the Middle East, Africa and the Far East.	182
Section 1. Financial Administration	123	Subsection 8. Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development	184
SECTION 2. DEPARTMENTS, BOARDS, COM- MISSIONS, ETC	127	Subsection 9. Canadian External Aid Programs.	184

The interpretation of the symbols used in the tables throughout the Year Book will be found on p. xvi of this volume.

PART I.—CONSTITUTION OF CANADA

The Canadian federal state, which today comprises ten provinces and two vast northern territories, had its beginning one hundred years ago in the enactment (Mar. 29, 1867) by the British Parliament of the British North America Act, 1867. Fashioned largely out of the Seventy-two Resolutions drafted at Quebec (1864) by the Fathers of Confederation, the British North America Act, 1867 provided for the federal union of the three British North American provinces (Canada, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia) in one Dominion under the name of "Canada".

[•] Except where otherwise indicated, the federal data in this Chapter have been brought up to the date of Sept. 30, 1967, the provincial data to June 30, 1967, and the Territorial data to Sept. 30, 1967. Certain changes occurring between those dates and the date of going to press will be found in an Appendix to this volume. Also, official appointments made up to the date of going to press will be found in Chapter XXVII (see Index).